REVIEWS

default image

They put a new roof on our home. They had to do some of the roof when we were not home. He was very thorough and explained everything so clearly. They did an excellent job. They had to take two layers of roofing off. They repaired our gutter as well.

Sherrill F Jessup, MD December 22, 2017

default image

New tear off roof. Very thorough. The work was done quickly and when agreed.

Louis & Valerie S Russett, MD December 22, 2017

default image

I had a leak on the roof and they did some patch work. They are good company. They were very nice to work with. They were very quick and honest with me.

Terrines S Laurel, MD December 22, 2017

default image

They put in three skylights, replaced two plywood that were rotting, and replaced the whole roof. It took about a week to replace the roof. The contractors that worked on the roof were great. The person who worked on the metal part, I wasn't happy with his work, but they came back out and fixed it and replaced the whole part. The sales staff was very chatty but there was no pressure and they were very helpful. They were very neat, careful, and friendly.

Stewart O Fulton, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Fixed vents and shingles. Perfect

David B Ellicott City, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Located and plugged a leak in the roof. The serviceman scheduled and arrived promptly, quickly located the source of the leak, explained the problem, and repaired it at no additional cost.

Joel F Elkridge, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Replaced the roof on my home. The asphalt shingle roof on my 25 year old home was the original installed by the builder, and it was time for a replacement. It had one small leak, but it was at the end of its predicted life, and I wanted to replace it before it became a bigger problem. I got three bids and Marshall's Contacting Co. was the lowest responsive proposal. During the bidding process Jim Marshall actually came to the house and walked my wife and me through the entire process. He was very personable and answered all our questions. He was able to determine that some of our sheathing was bad during his inspection and included the cost of replacement in his bid. After the work was scheduled we had a few rain delays, but Jim kept us informed of any changes. The work took one day. I was home and observed that the crew worked well together and was very experienced. The tear off of the old roof went well. All the waste went straight into their dump truck, and they had moved or protected outdoor furniture and landscaping. A few pieces of bad sheathing were replaced. They installed a metal drip edge and ice shield along the eves and replaced all the flashing, pipe collars, and a skylight with a broken seal. We replaced our original shingles with architectural shingles and are extremely pleased with the new look. After the work was completed they cleaned up very well. I would definitely recommend Marshall's Contracting Co. Their work, products and technical knowledge are first rate, and Jim Marshall is very straight forward and a pleasure to do business with.

Claudia G Columbia, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Jim Marshall was extremely responsive on extremely short notice. He was knowledgeable and professional on the phone and responded quickly for an extremely short notice job. I would most definitely call on him again. You can count on Jim Marshall to quickly return phone calls and e-mails. He displays a vast knowledge of his craft.

Robin P Jessup, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Provider repaired a shingle that was torn from the roof after a storm. After phone call, provider agreed to come out to the house the next day. He made the repair and also inspected the entire roof. He also offered a free estimate for a new roof. Upon leaving, provider asked if he could leave sign in yard advertising his company for two weeks.

Charyl I Clarksville, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Roof small repairs and preventive maintenance. I suspected a roof leak and needed urgent fix before leaving the house for a week. James responded to my request and completed all necessary work within a few days. Two very heave showers later I can confirm high quality of his work.

Vladimir T Columbia, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Installation of new, larger capacity gutter system. The install team was very efficient and made quick work of the installation. They had removed the old system and had the new gutters up within an hour. Very responsive in coordination of this project. The team was efficient in the installation. Had removed and installed the new system within an hours time.

John A Olney, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Replaced 2 missing shingles on the roof. Capped off exposed nails on roof and ridge vents. Recaulked flashing. Blew debris out of gutters. Did a general inspection of the roof condition. Jim did the work himself. He was efficient, took before and after pictures, discussed why he did the work and what the issues were, and did everything at a reasonable price. I felt Jim was honest and did not push to do more work that necessary, being respectful of the homeowners interests. I would definitely contact Jim again for any of my roofing needs. Highly recommended.

Garvin C Catonsville, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Mr. Marshall walked my flat roof to determine the condition. I had been told that I might need to repair or replace it. He assured me that my roof is in good condition and won't need to be repaired or replace for some time. I appreciated his honesty and liked the fact that he didn't try to sell me a service that I didn't need. I will surly call him when I need such a service.

Karen W Hanover, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Repair a leak over my garage. Jim has a smart, engaging, and fearlessly honest approach to working with customers. He is refreshingly direct and thorough, and he takes the time to actually think, listen and ask questions.

Debra E Cloverly, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Repair of roof, gutters, soffit and fascia due to storm damage. Jim was very courteous and profession in taking the time to do an estimate for us. Although it wasn't feasible for him to fit our repair in our current workload, Jim provided helpful information in advising us how to proceed with estimates from other contractors.

Melissa F Burtonsville, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Jim repaired a leak around the DWV vent on an old farmhouse. Jim was a pleasure to work with. He contacted us right away to schedule the service. Gave us several options on how best to proceed and did a fabulous job.

William M Fort Meade, MD December 22, 2017

default image

Roof tear-off and replacement and installation of gutter guards. I selected a different vendor based on price alone; however, I wanted to write this review because I was impressed with Marshall Roofing and would recommend them. The owner Jim Marshall is very knowledgeable about roofing and is open and honest in his discussion of the work needed. I trusted his assessment of the job and he spent a fair amount of time educating me about his recommendations.

Robert S Savage, MD December 22, 2017

default image

My roof was at end of life. Wind gusts were blowing off shingle tabs. James gave me an excellent quote for quality materials. He promised a finished date for the following week. Everything went perfectly. The crew was on time and detail oriented. The results look great and cleanup was excellent. It took one day.

Stephen B South Laurel, MD December 22, 2017

default image

We needed an emergency roofing replacement on our home in Ellicott City after patching and doing small roofing repairs to limp us along for years. We eventually faced the fact that the wind, hail and storm damage had finally taken its toll. After some research and talking to a neighbor who had used Marshalls Roofing and Contracting for window and siding installation during a remodel last fall, we called them. Jim and his crew were nothing short of amazing. After doing a thorough shingle roof inspection and giving us a very fair price, the residential roofers showed up at our house a little before 7am. By the time my husband and I left for work around 7:30, they had most of the shingles stripped off the roof. They completed the entire job, including the clean up by 6pm that evening. If you are looking for a roofing company in Howard County, look no further!

Maya C Ellicott City, MD May 18, 2015

default image

After the hail damage repairs needed from a couple of years ago and all of the recent storm damage repairs our composite roof needed since, we figured it was time for a complete roofing replacement. We had tried patching the shingle roof ourselves but I didn't really know what I was doing as I only had limited experience with metal roofs. Luckily Marshall's Roofing & Contracting were referred to us by our neighbor. They had done the commercial roofing job at their painting company and were overjoyed with every aspect of the service they received. So we called Marshall's and they came out and did a thorough roofing inspection and then were able to do the roofing repairs properly, not trying to tide things over until the next rain storm like I was doing. They also installed new gutters and gutter guards to help with the waterproofing issue and prevent future roof leak repairs. We were so relieved that we didn't need a new roof and we were just as happy as our neighbors with the fair price and quality service we received that we called them back out for new siding installation and a couple of window replacements. We were sick of all the coats of exterior painting and power washing to try to restore it and finally decided to splurge on new siding and I'm sure it has increased our home value and certainly our curb appeal. We highly recommend them as residential roofers and as a construction company and we wouldn't hesitate to call them back for future home improvement projects.

Beck K Columbia, MD November 10, 2014

default image

It's great to finally find a residential roofing company with excellent customer service and a commitment to quality. Marshalls Roofing & Contracting answered all of our questions without a sales pitch. They laid out our options and the advantages and disadvantages of the different composite, rubber and metal roof types etc. We never felt any pressure and they were great to work with on our old flat roof tear off and our brand new shingle roof installation. Their roofing inspection was very comprehensive and they made the re-roofing process stress free by working quickly, power washing and cleaning up the job site everyday and securing our premises for the duration. I'm confident we won't need hail or wind damage repairs for quite a while now. We have already recommended them to my brother for the rubber roof repairs on his restaurant and will refer them to others given the chance!

Wanda T Columbia, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Jim was the commercial roofer that worked around my busy work schedule to find a time to come to my office to do a minor roof repair. Some other roofing companies around Laurel said the job was too small and they wouldn't even come out to look at it let alone do a roofing inspection. Jim was able to do the roofing repair immediately rather than make an appointment to come back. He had all the materials and equipment he needed and explained in detail what was wrong and what he was doing to fix it. The fact that he treated my small roofing job like I was a big shot is reason enough to call him back next spring for the reroofing restoration of my house. The storm and hail damage over the years has taken its toll and my roof is beyond leak damage repair. I am excited to tell Jim that I want Marshall's to install my new roof, do a couple of window replacements and install new siding. That's a big job that I bet the other companies would want! I would recommend Marshalls Roofing to anyone. They were professional, efficient and reliable.

Deborah C Laurel, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Replaced wind-damaged roof ridge vent and covered exposed attic fan on adjacent roof - Contacted Mr. Marshall early in the morning to come and address damaged ridge vent. Shortly thereafter, he called to ask the color of the ridge vent, so that he could bring correct color replacement ridge vent. When he arrived, he quickly replaced damaged ridge vent, then noted that cover of the attic fan on adjacent roof was missing. We agreed that fan should be covered, which he quickly and expertly did. All work was professionally performed. Mr. Marshall is extremely polite and courteous.

Fred B Columbia, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Our home roofing replacement with Marshalls Roofing and Construction company was a painless process from start to finish. It started with a roofing inspection of the storm and hail damage repairs my husband had attempted over the last few months and then the new shingle roof installation was done a week ahead of time. The residential roofers worked non stop and completed the reroofing project within budget too. Marshall's replaced two soffits that I didn't want to take care of myself and their carpentry was excellent. I thought the flat roof parts would be a challenge but they tackled it no problem. We haven't needed any leak damage repairs since. From the first contact to the last when they were power washing and cleaning up debris it was the best experience I've ever had working with any kind of contractor!

Caitlen P Jessup, MD November 10, 2014

default image

I got Marshalls Roofing and Contracting's phone number from my boss. Their commercial roofers had just reroofed the flat roof at the office and I could see what an excellent job they did, overcoming all the problems that popped up along the way. I called them for some storm damage roof repairs and minor home improvements at my house in Clarksville. The residential roofer they sent out for the shingle roof inspection was prompt, courteous and didn't smell of cigarette smoke. The roofing inspection itself was fast and accurate and the estimate was fair and included clean up and power washing. They did excellent work on the hail damage repair, on time and on budget. I hope to never need a roofing replacement but if I do, I won't hesitate to contact Marshall's again.

Carli Z Clarksville, MD November 10, 2014

default image

This roofing company is the real deal. They have done three reroofing projects for me in the past ten years as well as various storm and leak damage repairs. They are outstanding residential roofers, completing a flat roof on my home and a beautiful metal roof on a historic building in Columbia. And their commercial roofers are just as good, completing the shingle roof at my husbands office. All new roofs start out with a comprehensive roofing inspection and then they are superbly done, on budget and on time and finish with a power washing and removal of unwanted debris. And they don't just stop at roofing, I've had them install new siding as well as window replacements. It's great to find an honest, local home improvement business with quality work and I'm pleased to spread the word!

Rachael H Fulton, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Repaired three places in rolled rubber roof & coated entire roof w/an aluminum paint, to protect rubber & reflect heat in summer. After phoning several contractors for estimates, that would have taken anywhere from two weeks to a month, I received a next-day estimate from Marshall's & my roof was repaired & recoated within several days of receiving estimate.

Elaine R Baltimore, MD November 10, 2014

default image

What an excellent construction and roofing company! They really helped us out a lot. My husband and I had become landlords when our house didn't sell when we moved out of state. Trying to take care of the home improvements from two states away was certainly a challenge. The house in Ellicott City needed a shingle roofing replacement as the old roof had a lot of leak damage from hail and storms and it needed some vinyl siding replacement and painting too. The first residential roofers didn't show up and we were totally stuck with the materials. We called Jim at Marshalls Roofing and Contracting and not only was he willing to work with the materials we had purchased, he went out the same day for the siding and roofing inspection and gave us an estimate for early the next week! They showed us as promised and had the new siding and roof installed and exterior painting done in no time. The renters said they did a fantastic job cleaning up the yard and power washing afterwards. Marshall's kept us informed and stayed true to their bid. We are very grateful and will call on them again if needed.

Keisha D Ellicott City, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Took up 3 feet of shingles to apply ice shield to roof and re-laid same shingles; replaced pipe vent collar, caulked nail pops; nailed in drip edge, replaced missing end caps, replaced missing siding panel; fabricated open facia/corner aluminum cover. I am so relieved that we found Mr. Marshall on Angie's list! We have had persistently leaky windows that no one has seemed to have been able to fix. Mr. Marshall's specialties are roofing, siding, gutters and windows-therefore, he was confident that we would be able to find the problem in one of these domains. He understandably could not guaranteed that these roofing repairs that would have been needed regardless of a connection to the leak would fix our problem, however he was hopeful that they might, and suggested waiting to see if the problem resolved after the repairs. If not, he would then suggest the bigger job of removing the siding and taping around the windows and then reusing the siding again. I appreciated his honesty in recommending that we go with a less costly method first. He completed the job over a 2 day period, and took pictures of the roof so I could see what he had done, as well as showed me water stains on the drip edge that could be indicative of a point of entry for the water. I am cautiously hopeful that these needed repairs fixed our leak as it has rained since and we've had no issues!

Alison R Ellicott City, MD November 10, 2014

default image

Gutter Replacement - I was pleased as punch with this company. They were very punctual, and did not horse around. The job was completed in good time, and looks great. I would most definitely use them again.

Joann I Silver Spring, MD November 10, 2014